Primary Care Networks

PCNs build on existing primary care services and enable greater provision of proactive, personalised, coordinated and more integrated health and social care for people close to home.

Each of the 1,250 PCNs across England are based on GP registered patient lists, typically serving natural communities of between 30,000 to 50,000 people (with some flexibility). They are small enough to provide the personal care valued by both people and GPs, but large enough to have impact and economies of scale through better collaboration between GP practices and others in the local health and social care system.

PCNs are led by clinical directors who may be a GP, general practice nurse, clinical pharmacist or other clinical profession working in general practice.

As PCNs develop, the role of community pharmacy is beginning to receive the recognition it deserves. Use the resources on this page to learn more about PCNs, locally and nationally.

County Durham Primary Care Networks (PCNs) Community Pharmacy Leads

Bishop Auckland PCN

Joy Cooper

Email: joycooper132@googlemail.com

Pharmacy: Boots (FTJ49)

Chester-Le-Street

Sri Kanaparthy

Email: sri.kanaparthy@nhs.net

Pharmacy: Amerikana LLP t/a Vigo (FW641)

Claypath and University

Vacancy. CPCD is working with pharmacies in the PCN to appoint a new Community Pharmacy lead

Darlington

Sunil Kumar

Email: sunil.kumar7@nhs.net

Pharmacy: Cockerton Pharmacy (FWQ54)

Derwentside

Lee Middleton

Email: Leemiddleton@nhs.net

Pharmacy: Lanchester Pharmacy (FFF81)

Durham East

Bethany Waters

Email: bethany.waters@intrahealth.co.uk

Pharmacy: Belmont Pharmacy (Intrahealth) (FLK46)

Durham West

Cathy Donaldson

Email: cathy.donaldson@boots.com

Pharmacy: Boots (FMG71)

Easington Central

Paul Arnett

Email: paul.arnett@intrahealth.co.uk

Pharmacy: Intrahealth (FDH51)

Easington District

Emma Hewitt

Email: emma.hewitt3@nhs.net

Pharmacy: Pharmacy Express (FVC46)

Easington North

Sri Pusapati

Email: s.pusapati@nhs.net

Pharmacy: J & J Pharmacy (FGQ15)

Sedgefield North

Brian Hunter

Email: brian.hunter@intrahealth.co.uk

Pharmacy: Intrahealth (FG885)

Sedgefield One

Laurence Ashwin

Email: laurence.ashwin@intrahealth.co.uk

Pharmacy: Intrahealth (FTH97)

Teesdale

Sinead Pattison

Email: sinead.pattison@nhs.net

Pharmacy: Day Lewis (FV380)

Weardale

Abi Fraser

Email: abi.fraser@nhs.net

Pharmacy: Clemitsons Ltd (FXH47)